Traveling Hanoi definitely can't help but visit Hoan Kiem lake Also known as Sword Lake. This is a natural lake located in the heart of Hanoi city center. In the past, the lake was called Luc Thuy by the people because of the blue color of the water all year round. According to legend, when King Le Loi returned the precious sword to Turtle God, Hoan Kiem Lake started its name from there.
Under Le Mat, Hoan Kiem lake was called Ta Vong lake or Huu Vong lake. According to recorded history, after a walk of King Le Loi on a yacht, suddenly a golden tortoise slowly emerged from the water and demanded that the king return the sword that Long Vuong gave to the king. borrowed when fighting the Ming army invading our country. King Le Loi pulled out his sword and returned it to the magic turtle, and the turtle dived into the water and disappeared. Since then, the name Hoan Kiem was taken to name a district in Hanoi.
Distinguishing features of Hoan Kiem Lake
1. Geographical location
Hoan Kiem Lake is located in Hoan Kiem district, this is also the district located in the center of Hanoi city. The geographical location is convenient with the connection between the old quarters such as: Hang Dao, Cau Go, Lo Su, Hang Ngang and Luong Van Can... with the neighborhoods dedicated to the west planned by the French about some time ago. for more than a century are the Cathedral, Trang Thi, Hang Bai, Trang Tien, Ba Trieu and Hang Khay.
2. History of birth
More than 6 centuries ago, based on the map of Hong Duc period, most of the surroundings in the citadel were water.
Hoan Kiem Lake is distributable from the source of the Red River, flowing through many special locations of Hanoi's streets such as: Hai Ba Trung, Ly Thuong Kiet and Hang Chuoi. Next are the main branches of the Red River, which is considered to be the widest, distributing this place into Hoan Kiem Lake as it is now. Entering the sixteenth century, Lord Trinh also allowed the refurbishment and adjustment Hanoi Citadel to welcome King Le to live in, and since then also built a number of private palaces and since then have become agencies that play an important role at that time. The solid and luxurious architectures such as the Ngu floor Long is located on the bank of Hoan Kiem clock, left Vong pavilion on Ngoc Son.
In 1728, King Trinh Giang had to dig more tunnels in the southern position to build an underground palace called Thuong Tri palace by the people. Until the reign of King Tu Duc, Huu Vong Lake was renamed Thuy Quan Lake, while Hoan Kiem Lake was Ta Vong Lake. Starting in 1884, the state protected the French to build and fill Thuy Quan lake in order to build and open more Hanoi.
Monuments located in Hoan Kiem Lake area
1. Turtle Tower
The prime location for Turtle Tower is located in the center of the city and was built from 1884 to 1886, on Turtle Mound still bearing the French architectural style. The tower has a rectangular shape with a length of up to 6,28m located in the East and West, each side will have 3 doors. With a width of 4,54m and 2 main doors. On the 2nd floor, the length is 4,8m and the width is about 3,65m, with the same architecture as the first floor of the tower. The third floor is also about 1m long and 3m wide. On this floor, only a small circular door will open to the East, with a diameter of 2,97m.
2. Ngoc Son Temple
The temple is located in the north of Hoan Kiem Lake, from the old days the name of Ngoc Son Temple is Tuong Er. After King Ly Thai To ascended the throne, Ngoc Son Temple was given another name by the king called "Ngoc Tuong", the name changed at that time when the king moved the capital from Hue to the ancient citadel of Thang Long. And until the Tran Dynasty, the island was renamed Ngoc Son.
3. The Huc Bridge
Leading to Ngoc Son Temple will be The Huc Bridge built by a famous artist Nguyen Van Sieu in 1865. The name of the bridge has a great meaning, "The place where the sun shines in the early morning".
4. Pen Tower
The main direction is in the Northeast Lake, built in 1865 and consists of five floors. At the top of the top, there is an image of a pen nib, the body has been engraved with three words Ta Thanh Nhien with a very deep meaning "Writing in the blue sky". The body on the third floor of the tower will be engraved with an article "Pen Thap Chi".
5. Research Station
On the shore when visitors go to the northeast of the lake, built in 1865, this is the most important and indispensable part of the Pen Tower. Three slanted legs are placed in the main image of three toads, the top of the inclined body has been cleverly different from the Minh card with 64 Chinese characters.
Traveling Hanoi Surely visitors should not this extremely ideal location, Hoan Kiem Lake will make you feel comfortable and be immersed in the unique and precious things of Vietnam's history from the past to the present. The relics inside Hoan Kiem Lake have been repaired and renewed but still retain the image and special features in it.